UWCD Quarantine (3rd Term)

After a long wait of 6 months, I finally arrived back to Armenia. A jumble of feelings and emotions as things have changed from the last time I was in this amazing place.

The nostalgia of coming back to campus, rooms, toons (uwcd fraternities kinda) and not being with our second years anymore meant an emotional challenge not only for me but for most of the generation. However, we were feeling excited as well! New people from new countries were coming! Positivism is a thing that I have to highlight about people in this place.

I spent all my summer in the USA with some relatives. I was not able to go back to my home country. This mean that I had to experience a lot of stress and worries in order to get my flight back during pandemic times to Armenia. My travel lasted 3 days, sounds crazy right? Well, is true. I arrived the 9th of August after a long journey within Houston, New York, Ireland, The Netherlands, Belarus and finally, Armenia.

But that’s not the point. This is about how quarantine was in my school. So, we were divided in groups, I feel very lucky that I was in the same flight with many of my friends, which meant expending 14 days of quarantine with them after 6 longs months without interaction. There was such a coincidence that the school decided to keep my in my old room as “provisional room”, it is not important tho, is just funny. Anyways, I was roommate with Ernest from Belgium, (funny guy by the way).

So, the first 14 days we were in a stage called “Orange Zone” which means people that just arrived and have to spent 14 days before the PCR test is done. In these days we had a very weird and strict schedule, there was literally no freedom, but is understandable as is Armenian Law. I think I made some bonds during these times with people I did not talk much before (everyone did). Afterward, we finally went out of this stage and I needed to move from my provisional room to my provisional room 2.0 in the other side of the building, it was such a stress knowing that I could not unpack because I must move again! There were some people that even had 4 provisional rooms!

Anyway, online learning started and I do not remember anything of what we were supposed to learn! Within this period I finally managed to get to my room, and here is where I met my new roommates Sorya, such a cool guy (He can do a back-flip), and Martin, who is smart and amazing at football! I hope this term will bring a lot of new experiences and people…

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started